We are apologize for the inconvenience but you need to download
more modern browser in order to be able to browse our page

Download Safari
Download Safari
Download Chrome
Download Chrome
Download Firefox
Download Firefox
Download IE 10+
Download IE 10+

Do Make Say Think

Do Make Say Think self-released this debut album in Toronto in 1997, and we heard it the following spring. The band’s infectious spacerock-cum-swing approach to sweeping instrumentals, and their brilliant realisation of the potentials of 8-track recording, hooked us instantly. Rhythm syncopation, reverb-soaked guitar, the occasional horn, and some of the finest saturated synth tones we’ve ever heard – this record conjures up rainy streets and wet cigarettes with the best of them. A classic modern lounge album that also shreds, with widescreen breakbeat blissouts driven by punk-rock guitars. An exuberant debut, containing all the building blocks DMST has been transforming into sublime music architectures ever since.

Release date (band self-release): 1997
Release date (Constellation): 8 March 1999
Running time: 72:44


Ohad Benchetrit: guitar, bass, saxophone, flute
Jason McKenzie: keyboards, effects
Dave Mitchell: drums
James Payment: drums
Justin Small: guitar
Charles Spearin: bass, guitar, trumpet

Recorded and mixed at CIUT Radio in Toronto by Do Make Say Think, July 1997. TRACKS 2, 6, 8 recorded at some school for the arts by Charles, Ohad, Peter, JR and Adam, September 1996.



1. 1978
2. Le’espalace
3. If I Only…
4. Highway 420
5. Dr. Hooch
6. Disco and Haze
7. Onions
8. The Fare To Get There